Skip to content

2OPINIONATED goes global!

Introducing our first guest editor – Faith Wignall

Our apologies – it’s been a long time between drinks. We have been spending some time thinking how we could improve the 2OPINIONATED experience and we have finally decided we need some more opinions!

Faith Wignall is the first in our new team of guest editors. Every six weeks you will hear the opinions from one of our new 2OPINIONATED experts.
‘I have known for Faith for years. She has impeccable taste, meticulous researching skills and is never short of an opinion – perfect credentials for a 2OPINIONATED crew member.’ – Hannah Brooks

This week Faith is reporting from New York. For everyone who wishes they had been in NYC for Fashion’s Night Out or covert a seat at a show at NY Fashion week…lets live vicariously through Faith! I’m sure you will look forward to Faith’s posts this week as she pursues the perfect shopping moments in NYC.

NYC the Place to Be!

Being in New York is the ultimate treat for me.  As far as shopping in New York, it’s a dream for anyone that has the energy and budget, but what I like about this city is the options.  The variety, and the immediacy of it all.  In Sydney we only have a small selection of some of the stores I checked out today, and with limited distribution, prices can be pretty ridiculous for something that in New York you see everywhere and is a third of the price.  God bless America.

Labour Day weekend has just passed, and after spending a long weekend in Shelter Island and North Fork of Long Island, I was ready to hit the streets of Manhattan for some exploring.  While on Long Island, my friend who works as a stylist in the city, took me to this amazing store called Revival.  It was in Roslyn which is crawling with wealthy husbands, whose wives have nothing else to do, but to continue to update their bag collections, and wardrobe to the current season’s trends.  Revival makes a killing here, and it is by far the best consignment store I’ve ever been to.  For example a Louis Vuitton, monogram satchel shoulder bag circa 1996 in prestine condition was going for a cool $395 – I almost did it, but I was not sold on the monogram, it’s too flashy for me, and I find the monogram too common.  I need something more me, so my shoulder bag hunt continues…www.revivalboutique.com

Back in the city, I had a nice breakfast in Seaport, before making the walk of shame over to Century21 near the World Trade Centre…I can’t stand this place but my mother insisted I go there and buy her a pair of tights.  Going in there, is like going to see where fashion goes to die. and the vultures are circling to jump on any well known designer name just to help up their status or improve their style, which as we know is impossible – ouch!

I got out of there with my dignity intact…just, then headed up to the West Village for some real shopping.

Bleeker and Perry Streets – Jo Malone, Diptyque, Marc by Marc Jacobs, A.P.C to name a few, were all places I stopped at and made some purchases.  Gifts for friends, and for myself, Marc by Marc Jacobs’ Gen Y staff tend to be less hands on than I would like, but overall everyone was friendly, and the shopping experience pleasant and very seamless.  Its been a while since I’d been treated so well by a retailer, I had to take a moment to soak it all in.

Hitting Opening Ceremony on my way home was definitely a low point.

I walked in the store, after a day on my feet, so excited to be there after my three year hiatus, ready to peruse their range of comme des garcons leather accessories, only to be ignored, asked to move by a staff member trying to get around me because I was carrying so many bags, and not once after many attempts to eye-contact some service in my direction, did anyone come over.  No one offered to help put my bags somewhere while I shopped, no one asked if I wanted help with anything, it was awful.

I made a comment to them on their instagram page, to no avail….but perhaps I’ve outgrown that too cool approach, and that style of store, I actually want to be spoken to please! #I’veoutgrownthisshit.com

Fashion Week is upon us.

Today was my take it easy day, I had breakfast in Soho and then checked out the many consignment stores of INA (they have Men and Women’s stores around Soho and Chelsea) then did some window shopping, checking out the current window displays and various pieces in boutiques I’d noted to visit.

Greene Street off Prince Street in Soho is where its at….

Kirna Zabete – This store has been created to remind us how it should be.

Friendly, bright and big, with the various designers sectioned through out the store, Proenza Schouler, Givenchy, Azzedine Alaia, Repetto and Jason Wu to name a few.

The wall of this season’s current range of bags, was lovely.  By far the best range of Celine in the city and although its heavy on top designers, the store is broken up with little displays using accessories and books that fashion enthusiast may want to peruse.  Titles include, Ali in Wonderland, The Satorialist and my favourite Gay Men Don’t Get Fat.

The staff were helpful, approachable and although they couldn’t help me with my Celine sunglasses needs, they mentioned they get a lot of Australian customers, which doesn’t surprise me.

Louis Vuitton Soho Store – This store has done well at toning down the high end persona, to fit into its surroundings in Soho, and the window display featured an installation by Japanese artist Yayoi Kusama who has collaborated with Louis Vuitton this season.  I went to an exhibition of hers at the MCA in Sydney a few years ago and it was great, so it was nice to see her quirky art mixed with this luxury icon, it fit well in the Soho neighbourhood.

Dash – I know the Kardashians garner both love and hate, and I have to say when it comes to their store Dash in Soho I’m a hater.

The window display for one is depressing and embarrassing, I think Kim should spend more time at work in the store than working out what colour her and Kanye are going to wear each day, this store needs help, and is bringing the rest of the neighbourhood down!

Rag & Bone – so expensive for what it is, but great store and loved the latest campaign with Miranda Kerr in store.The window display was 8mm footage of Kate Moss standing in various poses in their Rag & Bones, smiling, blue steeling and looking hot as per usual. – Faith Wignall

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

You will be hearing more from Faith and our other guest editors on the new improved 2OPINIONATED – so stay tuned!

No comments yet

Reply with your Opinion

