Skip to content

REVLON FOR THE NEXT GENERATION?

WOE IS ME

As the saying goes…another day another dodgy Revlon campaign.

It’s true, 2OPINIONATED has never been particularly fond of Revlon campaigns as the previous post YSL, Chanel or Revlon will attest and I have to admit to being deeply offended when confronted with the three-story high version of the Revlon Fall/Winter 2013 campaign at my local Westfield.

Perhaps I’m easily offended but here’s the reasons why I chose to take offence:

  • Firstly, I love Emma Stone and I don’t think this campaign does her any favours at all
  • Secondly, I have a lifelong love of rubies and it saddens me to see them so cheapened
  • and thirdly I think the next generation of Revlon consumers deserve something a little bit more innovative than these trite campaigns

One of my many gigs is teaching marketing to fashion students here in Sydney Australia. In one of my lessons, we discuss as a group, Emma Stone’s first print campaign for Revlon, as seen below.

revlon-ss-2012-emma-stone-by-craig-mcdean1

The campaign is always universally trashed by the students as being naff, contrived and uninspiring. Sure, fashion students are generally a hard bunch to impress but given the selection of Emma Stone as the  brand ambassador – my students should be exactly the sort of consumers this campaign was created to appeal to.

To see the Fall/Winter 2013 campaign that offended me so – view the gallery below

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2OPINIONATED RATING – Powerless ★ ★   Translation: Memorable for all the wrong reasons, no desire to shop or purchase again.

I suppose I should elaborate on why I think this campaign is ineffective.

Emma Stone is known for her youth, intelligence and sense of fun. I’m scratching my head and asking why then did Revlon shoot a campaign that makes her look old, generic and dull? I know these ads are typically Revlon but if your brand ambassadors personality and sense of style does really suit your brand… then surely they shouldn’t be considered a good hire!

I also think of how sophisticated young consumers are today, particularly women. The youth of today are especially careful in selecting which brands they will align their own personal brand with. These two Revlon campaigns fall short of the mark for this new generation of switched on, educated consumers. It’s important to note that none of my students claimed that the use of Emma Stone by Revlon created any sense of desire for them to  actually purchase a Revlon product. As purchasing is generally considered the desired outcome for promotional activity – I ask myself what is Revlon thinking?

Revlon wasn’t always such a predictable brand in the eyes of younger consumers. The Charlie campaigns of the 1970’s (pictured below) were considered quite revolutionary. They inspired a sense of independence in the women of the 1970’s – as a whole generation aspired to be ‘sexy-young’ – thanks to Revlon!

Charlie ads

When I look at this group of campaign images I’m unsure whether Revlon’s approach has evolved much since the Charlie days. In fact, I think the clip below is rather reminiscent of Emma Stone’s stroll through the rose garden for Revlon last spring.

HANNAH BROOKS

WHAT DO YOU THINK ABOUT EMMA STONE FOR REVLON…HAVE WE COME A LONG WAY BABY?

 

No comments yet

Reply with your Opinion

